Logo Whatsit

Video mapping consulting & innovatives solutions

About

Cinema is not the only entertainment medium to have benefited from the explosion of digital technologies: the living arts are also undergoing a multimedia revolution. Today, the façade of any building can appear to come to life, and become the canvas of a show in which its architectural features can be transformed, even animated, through the magic of video mapping. Farewell light bulbs and lighting from another time: ``digital light`` brings heritage and the global urban landscape into a new era of dynamic visual transformation.

WHATSIT was born to support and set up any project related to video mapping. With long experience in the implementation of digital devices, we offer consulting services that concern both the scenography and the latest technologies in digital light. Because such projects are at the crossover of many different crafts and skills, we also develop systems that allow all these distinct technological and artistic disciplines to communicate effectively, to interact seamlessly, to design, implement and deliver a visual experience of the highest quality. Fiat lux!

Services

1 Consulting

The conductor of an orchestra does much more than dress in tails and wave his wand on the night of the performance: He is the one who, for weeks or even months, directs the rehearsals, orients the musicians, and brings his expertise and vision to the music. This is exactly how we consider our consulting business. After an initial phase, during which we analyse, on site, the content and scope of the project, we propose the best technical solutions. As these solutions involve many operators, we also play an accompanying role in project management. Finally, we are able to create specific tools to simulate, and therefore greatly facilitate, the entire process of technical implementation.

2 Showviz

How to realise what a complex project will be before D-Day? It goes without saying that we can not give the green light to a large-scale event without first having rehearsals, making adjustments, and ensuring the smooth running of the show when the time comes. However, the larger the project the more complex and difficult these rehearsals can be: they mobilise people, resources and time, while taking care to ensure that the element of surprise is maintained. It is for this reason that we have developed a collaborative platform, accessible to all project stakeholders, which allows pre-visualization of installations. Recent advances in virtual reality and augmented reality have made this implementation possible; thanks to them, it is possible to observe, in real time, how the 
individual elements of the project affect each other. Rehearsals can be tedious and time-consuming, involving the integration of several disparate technologies. Used upstream, Showviz simplifies and optimizes the design period and provides reassurance about the viability of the project.

3 Digital illumination

This is one of our innovations, which aims to highlight architectural heritage through digital light. Urban lighting as we have known it has most often merely highlighted the obvious physical features of the building.

Scope

Our services are intended for both private and public producers of entertainment and events. We support all the actors and technical service providers, but our expertise also extends to the artistic dimension of the project; we also work closely with lighting designers, architects and scenographers.

Realisations

Clients

  • Balich Worldwide Show
  • ETC
  • Métropole Rouen Normandie
  • Puy du Fou
  • Reims.fr
  • Disney
  • Futuroscope
  • Béjart Ballet Lausanne
  • Five Currents

Partners

  • BPI France
  • Cap Digital
  • CNC
  • Riam

Logo Whatsit

Video mapping consulting & innovative solutions

À propos

Le cinéma « à effets spéciaux » n’est pas le seul divertissement à avoir profité de l’explosion des technologies numériques : les arts vivants, eux aussi, connaissent leur révolution multimédia. Aujourd’hui, une façade multicentenaire – immeuble ou même cathédrale, peu importe ! - peut prendre littéralement vie et devenir le canevas d’un spectacle dans lequel ses formes seront transformées, animées même, par la magie du mapping vidéo. Adieu, les ampoules et les éclairages d’un autre temps : la « lumière numérique » fait rentrer le patrimoine et le paysage urbain en général dans une nouvelle ère.

WHATSIT est née pour accompagner et mettre en place tout projet lié au mapping vidéo. Forts d’une déjà longue expérience dans la mise en place de dispositifs numériques, nous proposons des prestations de conseil qui touchent aussi bien à la scénographie qu’aux dernières technologies en matière de lumière numérique. Et parce que de tels projets sont à la croisée de nombreux métiers et compétences, nous développons aussi des systèmes permettant à tout ce petit monde de communiquer, interagir, et juger au plus vite du résultat final. Fiat lux !

Services

1 Consulting

Un chef d’orchestre fait bien plus que lever sa baguette, habillé en queue de pie, le soir de la première : c’est lui qui, pendant des semaines voire des mois, dirige les répétitions, oriente les musiciens, et apporte sa cohérence à une interprétation. Or, c’est exactement de cette manière que nous envisageons notre activité de conseil. Après une première phase – qui se doit d’être aussi rapide qu’intense – durant laquelle nous analysons, sur place, la teneur et l’ampleur du projet, nous proposons les meilleures solutions techniques. Et comme ces solutions impliquent de nombreux acteurs, nous jouons bien sûr un rôle d’accompagnement à la maitrise d’ouvrage. Enfin, nous sommes capables de créer des outils spécifiques permettant de simuler – et donc, grandement faciliter – tout le processus de mise en place technique.

2 Showviz

Comment se rendre compte de ce que donnera un projet complexe avant le jour J ? Il va sans dire qu’on ne peut donner le feu vert à un événement de grande envergure sans avoir, au préalable, procédé à des répétitions, des ajustements, garantissant le bon déroulement du spectacle le moment venu. Seulement, plus le projet est d’envergure, plus ces répétitions peuvent être problématiques et, surtout, compliquées : elles mobilisent du monde, des ressources, du temps – sans parler de l’effet de surprise qui pourrait s’en trouver émoussé. C’est pour cette raison que nous avons élaboré une plateforme collaborative, accessible à tous les acteurs du projet, qui permet de pré-visualiser les installations. Ce sont les avancées récentes en matière de réalité virtuelle et de réalité augmentée qui ont rendu possible une telle mise en place ; grâce à elles, chacun est en conséquence capable d’observer, en temps réel, comment sa partie impacte celle des autres. Les répétitions sont ces machineries fastidieuses à mettre en place, consommatrices de ressources en tout genre. Intervenant en amont, le Showviz simplifie et optimise la période de conception et rassure quant à la viabilité du projet.

3 Digital illumination

C’est une de nos innovations, qui vise à mettre en valeur le patrimoine architectural par le biais de la lumière numérique. L’éclairage urbain tel qu’on l’a connu – se contentant le plus souvent de souligner l’évidence – a bel et bien vécu.

Champ d'application

Nos services se destinent aux acteurs privés ou publics du spectacle et de l’événementiel. Nous accompagnons tous les acteurs et prestataires techniques, mais notre expertise s’étend aussi à la dimension artistique du projet ; nous travaillons donc aussi de concert avec les concepteurs lumière, les architectes ou encore les scénographes.

Réalisations

Clients

  • Balich Worldwide Show
  • ETC
  • Métropole Rouen Normandie
  • Puy du Fou
  • Reims.fr
  • Disney
  • Futuroscope
  • Béjart Ballet Lausanne
  • Five Currents

Partenaires

  • BPI France
  • Cap Digital
  • CNC
  • Riam